Northeast Kings hands out athletic awards

Russell, Stacey NKEC’s Senior Athletes of the Year

John Decoste
Published on June 22, 2014

Liam Russell and Emily Stacey were chosen as Northeast Kings Education Centre’s  Senior Athletes of the Year June 10 when the school recognized its top athletic performances.

Russell, who played soccer and basketball this past year, received several honours. Along with the Athlete of the Year award, he was recognized as NKEC’s male representative at the NSSAF Celebration of School Sport, and also as his school’s winner of the NSSAF Scholar-Athlete Award.

Junior Athlete of the Year awards were presented to Kyle Keddy and Morgan Lutz.

NKEC also presents Sportsperson of the Year awards to all-round athletes who exhibit excellence on the field, rink or court combined with dedication and fair play.

Chosen Senior Sportspersons of the Year for 2013-2014 were Dylan Troop and Leeanne Van Vilsteren.

There were co-winners of Junior Sportsperson of the Year: two girls, Karlee Martin and Maddy Laurence, and two boys, Griffin Abbott and Keegan Arenburg.

Along with Russell, NKEC’s other Celebration of School Sport representatives were Charlotte Haverstock as female student-athlete and Cathy Baldwin as teacher/coach.

The NKEC intermediate and senior boys’ table tennis teams both won regional championships, and the senior boys’ team of Shane Connell, Isaac Baker and Keegan Arenburg repeated as NSSAF provincial champions.

The NKEC boys’ hockey team also won the regional banner and then hosted provincials.

Recognition was also given to the six NKEC students – John Hodder, Meghan Vaughan, Paige Chisholm, Meghan Nicholson, Tim Longley and Owen Hebb – who qualified for track and field provincials.

Hebb had two first-place finishes at provincials, in long jump and triple jump, and Nicholson, javelin, and Longley, 800 metres,  claimed one first-place finish each.

The full list of NKEC athletic and extracurricular award winners include:


Senior Boys

Coaches Award: Liam Carmichael.


Rookie of the Year: John Main

Most Improved: Gavin Schofield, Marcel Bolland

MVP: Eric Main.

Junior Girls Soccer

Most Improved: Emma Taylor

Most Sportsmanlike: Shauna Forrestall

MVP: Lauren McNeil, Karlee Martin.

Junior Boys Soccer

Coaches Award: Matt Haverstock, Nathan McNally, Kyle Keddy.

Senior Girls Soccer

Coaches Award: Katie Russell, Chloe Corkum, Charlotte Haverstock;

MVP: Laura Parsons.

Senior Boys Soccer

MVP, Most Improved, Coaches Choice: Liam Russell.

Cross Country

Coaches Award: Meaghan Vaughan, Paige Chisholm

MVP: Tim Longley.

Senior Girls Volleyball

Coaches Award: Leeanne VanVilsteren, Lauren Sweet

MVP: Taylor Simmons.

Junior Girls Basketball

Most Improved: Emma Taylor

Most Sportsmanlike: Sylvia Sheffield

MVP: Tessa Firth.

Junior Boys Basketball

Coaches Award: MacKenzie Schofield

Most Improved: Morgan Sampson

MVP: Isaiah States.

Senior Girls Basketball

Coaches Award: Meaghan Nicholson, Emily Stacey

MVP: Gina Harris, Chloe Corkum.

Senior Boys Basketball

Coaches Choice: Dre Medicraft, Logan McKinley, Liam Russell.

Junior Boys Hockey

Coaches Award: Mason Kaizer, Andrew Parsons

MVP: Dyton Blackett (Grade 8); Luke Russell (Grade 9).

Senior Girls Hockey

Hard Hat Award: Alyson Monday

Rookie: Rachel Sheffield

Most Improved: Meaghan Ansems

MVP: Bailey Whynot.

Senior Boys Hockey

Corey Chapman Award: Tanner Ward

Rookie: Kyle Keddy

MVP: Dylan Troop.

Senior Girls Rugby

Coaches Award: Alisha Viner, Brandi Provo

MVP Forwards: Marieke Brown

MVP Backs: Olivia Mahaney.


Junior All-Star: MacKenzie Brawn

Most Improved Junior: Lillian Thomas

Senior All-Star: Marina Firth

Senior Most Improved: Jacqueline Robichaud

Senior MVP: Neely MacBurnie

Senior Spirit Award: Drew Potter.

Stage Crew

Member of the Year: Noah Lohnes.

Junior Girls Softball

Coaches Award: Maddy Porter, Maddy Laurence

MVP: Lauren McNeil.

Senior Girls Softball

Coaches Award: Emily Stacey

Most Improved: Melissa Vaughan

MVP: Jenna Jackson.

Track and Field

Coaches Award: John Hodder, Paige Chisholm, Meaghan Vaughan, Tim Longley, Meghan Nicholson, Owen Hebb.

Table Tennis

Captain’s Award: Alec Flanagan, Shane Connell/Isaac Baker

Graduating Player: Isaac Baker.

Most Dedicated: Logan Levesque

Most Improved: Alec Flanagan

Special Recognition: Drake and Drennon Rogers


Senior Boys Best All-Round: Morgan Isnor

Senior Boys Outstanding Performance: Logan Moore.


NSSAF Celebration of School Sport

Liam Russell, Charlotte Haverstock, Cathy Baldwin

NSSAF Scholar-Athlete Award

Liam Russell.


Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Karlee Martin/Maddy Laurence; Griffin Abbott/Keegan Arenburg.

Senior Sportsperson of the Year

Leeanne Van Vilsteren, Dylan Troop.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Morgan Lutz

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Kyle Keddy

Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Emily Stacey

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Liam Russell