Valley wineries honoured with Lieutenant-Governor's award for excellence

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

In front, from left, are Stewart Creaser, president of the Winery Association of Nova Scotia; Lt.-Gov. J.J. Grant; Her Honour Joan Grant; and Evelyn Friedrich. In back are Simon Rafuse (Blomidon Estate Winery); Jim Warner, Lorraine Vassalo and Ben Swetnam (Avondale Sky Winery); and Jurg Stutz, Patrick Cantieni, (Domain de Grand Pre). 

Three Valley wineries were presented with the inaugural Lieutenant-Governor’s Award for Excellence in Nova Scotia Wines July 23 in Halifax.  

Through a blind tasting, an independent panel of experts chose the following wines, in no particular order, to receive the award: Blomidon Estate Winery: Cuvée L'Acadie, 2010; Avondale Sky Winery: Martock, 2012; and Domaine de Grand Pré: Riesling, 2013. 

Geographic location: Halifax

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page