Top News

Yarmouth County presents annual sports awards

Special individual awards presented as part of 41st annual ceremony

Each year around this time, Yarmouth County’s athletes, teams and others making their mark in sports take centre stage as the area’s athletic awards are handed out.

The honours for 2017 were presented Nov. 17 at École secondaire de Par-en-Bas in Tusket.

As always, individuals and teams from a wide range of sports were recognized for their accomplishments from the past year.

The evening also included the presentation of 12 special individual awards. There were six categories, with male and female recipients for each.

The special award recipients for 2017:

Male athlete of the year - Derek d'Eon (volleyball).

Female athlete of the year – Allie Berry (basketball).

Youth male athlete of the year - Vincent Surette (baseball).

Youth female athlete of the year - Emma Corporon (basketball).

Male coach of the Year - Gary Baxter (baseball and basketball).

Female coach of the year - Nicole Gushue (athletics).

Male official of the year - Mike Needham (soccer).

Female official of the year - Michele Bullerwell (swimming).

Male fair play award - Evan Saulnier (soccer/hockey).

Female fair play award - Minna Stewart taekwondo).

Male volunteer of the year - Milton Bourque (karate).

Female volunteer of the year - Jennifer Hood (swimming).

NOTE: Derek d’Eon, Yarmouth County’s male athlete of the year, was not present for the Nov. 17 awards ceremony. His mother accepted the award on his behalf.

Recent Stories