Top News

Janelle Andrews receives Keith Trimper Memorial award from Digby Area Soccer

DIGBY – Janelle Andrews received the Keith Trimper Memorial Award at the Digby Area Soccer Association season end celebration.

DASA held their end of season banquet at the Digby arena on Monday, Aug. 24 with awards and cake.

Andrews received the association’s most important award, created in autumn 2008, to commemorate Digby soccer player Keith Trimper, who died that spring.

The association awards the trophy every year to an under 16 or under 14 player who shows the qualities exemplified by Keith:

“Their love for the game and the joy that soccer brings must be obvious to everyone including teammates, coaches, referees and fans. Recipients must be respectful to everyone, portray a positive presence on the field and be a pleasure to coach.”

Janelle was nominated by her coaches who said she “has a great enthusiasm for the game and is not only an asset to our team, but to the soccer community. She always exhibits a positive attitude towards players, coaches, officials and the sport.”

“Janelle works hard to advance her skills and encourages her team to do the same. Janelle often gives praise to others for a good pass or shot.  She provides valuable and constructive feedback to her teammates. Providing support to others is natural for Janelle. She definitely contributes to our positive team atmosphere.”

First year referee Avery Charlton received the Brenton Merritt Memorial referee award.

Merritt was a soccer player and referee in Digby who died in 2012.

The award is presented annually to a deserving Digby soccer referee.

Charlton was nominated by coaches who appreciated his professional attitude.

“He always shows up, and on time,” read the nomination. “He always kept the coaches informed and was not rude, or disrespectful to coaches or the players.

“He was friendly and outgoing enough to take our input about the game, and very hardworking to make sure the game was under control.

“You can tell that he enjoys the sport because he goes out of his way to show the kids the proper way to do things, like a goal kick for example.”

The coaches of the individual teams also presented the following awards:

U12 girls

MVP: Payton Tupper

Rookie: Emma Gaudet

3-D*: Sarah Roach

U12 boys

MVP: Nick Goodwin

Golden boot: Alex Barr

Play of the season: Dawson Purdy

U14 girls

Most improved: Grace Mullen

MVP: Olivia Daley

Coaches Award: Janelle Andrews

U14 boys

3-D*: Dylan Waldie

Coaches Award: Aidan MacGowan

MVP: Owen Titus

U16 girls

Most improved: Heather Stanton

MVP: Hannah Pothier

Coaches Award: Jasmine Deveau

U18 girls

Coaches Award: Keely Croft

Most improved: Bailee Gidney

MVP: Taylor Comeau

U18 boys

Rookie: Noah Titus

Coaches Award: Logan Carman

MVP: Anthony Jacques

Senior women

Most improved: Emily Daley

MVP: Rebecca Cook

Team choice: Megan Hersey

* 3-D stands for dedication, determination and desire

Recent Stories