Acadia celebrates Academic All-Canadians

Published on December 4, 2012
Axemen Logo

Acadia University's Department of Athletics celebrated the achievement of 79 Canadian Interuniversity Sport 2011-12 Academic All-Canadians today during the Acadia Academic All-Canadian luncheon held annually on its campus.

University senior administrators, staff and faculty members joined together to recognize the accomplishment of those who were deemed Academic All-Canadians by the standards set by the CIS.

The University's unique status as the Nation's top academic achiever per capita was celebrated with Acadia boasting 33.5 per cent of its student-athletes as Academic All-Canadians, compared to the national average of 27 per cent.

Acadia's Director of Athletics, Kevin Dickie, praised the accomplishments of Acadia's student-athletes - both athletically and academically.

"Along with having four teams presently ranked in the CIS Top 10 of Canada athletically and great community initiatives that we are involved in at this time, including the RCMP’s WITS program and the Annapolis Valley Regional School Board partnership, it is amazing to consider that we lead the country in the highest percentage of Academic All-Canadians based on the size of the institution,” he said. Congratulations to our 79 Academic All-Canadians for 2011-12.”

Student-athletes named 2011-12 Acadia Academic All-Canadians include:

Katherine Amirault, Ottawa, ON

Reed Anderson, Barrie, ON

Paige Bagnall, Dartmouth, NS

Erin Beazley, Windsor, NS

Alyssa Berry, Yarmouth, NS

Jenna Blackburn,   Brookside, NS

Heather Boersma, Arnprior, ON

Shannon Boldon, Fredericton, NB

Justin Boutilier, Niagara Falls, ON

Carlee Bryson, Halifax, NS

Chantelle Cadeau, Coldbrook, NS

Lauren Theresa Carter, Ottawa, ON

Nelly Chen, Wolfville, NS

Emilie Chiasson, Rockcliffe, ON

Elizabeth Conrod, Halifax, NS

Benjamin Corkum, Dartmouth, NS

Margaret Curry, Howie Centre, NS

Nicole Davidson, Surrey, BC

Leisha Doyle, New Glasgow, NS

Emma Duinker, Cambridge Station, NS

Liam Dutton, Wolfville, NS

Dustin Ekelman, Whitby, ON

Caroline Evans, Sackville, NB

Keegan Ezekiel, St John's, NL

Alana Fairfax, Berwick, NS

Luke Fallwell, Calgary, AB

Thomas Filgiano, Markham, ON

Kirby Fletcher, Grimshaw, AB

Andrew Frazer, Mississauga, ON

Joe Gaynor, Goderich, ON

Travis Dylan Gibbons, London, ON

Devlin Gilmour Ford, London, ON

Pamela Giordani, Cole Harbour, NS

John Girman, Mississauga, ON

Allison Godley, Enfield, NS

Amye-Michelle Harrigan, Saint John, NB

Lindsay Anne Harris, New Minas, NS

Kelly Hennessey, Halifax, NS

Leo James Jenner, Mossley, ON

Nicola Jones, North Vancouver, BC

Hashim Kareemi, Calgary, AB

Nicole Kelly, Morell, PE

Owen Klassen, Kingston, ON

Thomas Franklin Labenski, Oakville, ON

Jonathan Laberge, Sainte-Foy, QC

Chantal Landry, New Minas, NS

Charlotte Larry, Maitland, ON

TaylorLawson, Halifax, NS

Amanda Loder, Bedford, NS

Kristine Lovatt, Wilcox, SK

Christine Manning, Canning, NS

Kathleen McIver, Bedford, NS

Edward McNally, Moncton, NB

Caoimhe McParland, Halifax, NS

Erik Merchant, Halifax, NS

Elizabeth Muggah, Point Edward, NS

Alana Murphy, Montague RR5, PE

Andrea L. Murphy, Saskatoon, SK

Leah Murray, Lakeside, NS

James Nunn, Coldbrook, NS

Matthew Nunn, Coldbrook, NS

Charlotte Nutt, Ottawa, ON

Peter Porskamp, Canning, NS

Joel Ridgeway, Grosse Isle, MB

Eric Ross, Bedford, NS

Zachary Shaffelburg, Port Williams, NS

Rita Leila Sibo, Aylmer, QC

Martin Sichinga - Wolfville, NS

Lidia Simoes, Oakville, ON

Elizabeth Skuriat, Georgetown, ON

Janna Slevinsky, St. Albert, AB

Sean Stoqua, Ottawa, ON

Jacob Thomas, Douglas, NB

Sara Louise Thomas, Sackville, NB

Lydia Van Vilsteren, Canning, NS

Shana Vidito, Dartmouth, NS

Cameron Wade, Moncton, NB

Remi Winder, Lethbridge, AB

James Young, Halifax, NS