Voters heading to the polls in five East Hants districts

Ashley Thompson
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Residents living in five of the 13 districts in East Hants will be going to the polls in October, including citizens in Mount Uniacke and Lakelands.

Municipality of East Hants Warden John Patterson is retiring from politics after 18 years, leaving room for candidates Cyril McDonald and John Kingston to compete for his seat.

Four candidates — Sam Webber, Kim Williams, Christa Williams and Albert Flemming — are vying for votes in District 4 (Shubenacadie), where incumbent Pam MacInnesdid not reoffer.

Doug Carver is challenging District 12 (Mount Uniacke) incumbent Rosanne Bland, and Enfield’s councillor, Fred Bannister, is being contested by Anita Chisholm and Cecil P. Dixon.

Elmsdale’s incumbent, Norval Mitchell, is up against District 2 hopeful Stephen King.

Councillors Willy Versteeg (District 3, Milford), Keith Rhyno (District 5, Maitland), Wayne Greene (District 6, Noel), John MacDonald (District 7, Lantz), Greg Grant (District 8, Gore), Eldon Hebb (District 9, Nine Mile River), Jim Smith (Enfield-Horne Settlement) and Eleanor Roulston (District 11, Rawdon) are all re-elected by acclamation.

Registered voters will receive a voter’s card with polling station details about 10 days before the first advance poll. Election day is Oct. 20.


Geographic location: Mount Uniacke, East Hants, Shubenacadie

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page