UPDATE: County choosing new warden

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Advertiser Register logo

Update: 7:25 p.m.


District 5 councillor Diana Brothers will serve two more years as Kings County warden.

After the newly-elected council was sworn in Nov. 6, the first order of business was electing a warden from among their ranks. There were two nominees, Brothers and District 10 councillor Patricia Bishop.

Both were given about five minutes to speak on why they should be elected.

Following the speeches, the matter was put to a secret paper ballot vote.

After the municipal solicitors emerged from counting the ballots, Chief Administrative Officer Bob Ashley announced Brothers the winner.

A motion carried to destroy the ballots.

Brothers then took over as meeting chair and took nominations for deputy warden.

There were two nominees for deputy, District 12 councillor Mike Ennis and District 4 councillor Brian Hirtle. Both were given an opportunity to speak before the matter was put to a vote.

Following a secret paper ballot vote with the results tallied by the municipal solicitors, Ashley announced Ennis had been selected by his peers.

All newly sworn-in councillors have signed a code of conduct.

This is Brothers' second two-year term as warden and Ennis' first two-year term as deputy warden.

District 11 councillor Gary Connolly, District 1 councillor Kim MacQuarrie, District 2 councillor Emma VanRooyen and District 8 councillor Dale Lloyd were nominated to serve on the nominating committee. This committee will oversee other councillor appointments to various municipal committees. The three elected by their peers in a secret paper ballot to serve on the nominating committee for one year along with the Warden are Connolly, Lloyd and MacQuarrie.


Update: 6:40 p.m.

Warden Diana Brothers has been re-elected for a two-year term as warden.


The two candidates for deputy warden were Coun. Mike Ennis and Coun. Brian Hirtle. Ennis was selected.



County council will choose a new warden tonight, Nov. 6.

Current warden, Diana Brothers, as well as Coun. Patricia Bishop, have put their names forward for consideration.

Councillors will vote on the new warden. Keep checking back for updates as they become available.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page