Customize your website

  • The Register/Advertiser
  • The Vanguard
  • The Sou'Wester
  • The Digby Courier
  • The Coastguard
  • The Advance
  • The Hants Journal
  • The Spectator

Nigerian ‘Priest’ tries to rent resident’s house



Nigerian ‘Priest’ tries to rent resident’s house

Nigerian ‘Priest’ tries to rent resident’s house

Published on August 12th, 2008
Published on January 30th, 2010
 

Latest News

See All Articles

Regional News

See All Articles

See email conversation below

Liverpool resident, Linda Lane was shocked to discover a person trying to rent her home on Brookdale Crescent through an advertisement in the Queens County Advance was posing as the actual homeowner.

Topics :
Western Union , Roman Catholic Church in Liverpool , Africa , Nigeria

“A girl I work with was looking for an apartment, so she emailed this gentlemen,” through the contact provided in the advertisement, said Lane. “He emailed her back. He just talked about the house and that he’s a missionary in Africa.”

In the letter Rev. Kelvin King requests $400 as a damage deposit and would like someone to move in right away because he is on a missionary call in Africa. He wants the money transferred through Western Union to Nigeria, Africa. The secret question for the transfer is 'Who do you believe in?' The answer is God. At that point, he promises to send the keys to the apartment.

Lane’s home is actually for sale through Anne Thomson Reality and is listed on the www.mls.ca website, but she did not place advertisement in The Queens County Advance.

The advertisement described the ‘apartment’ as newly remodeled, with two bedrooms, two baths and a kitchen. Washer and dryer are included and it is located in a nice neighbourhood.

The apartment would cost $400 per month plus utilities.

The only contact information available was an email address, kingkelvin56@yahoo.com. “I find it quite shocking and it’s certainly kind of spooky,” continued Lane. “For a small town things get around pretty fast and how ironic it is a friend of mine was looking for a property.”

Lane hopes no one paid the scammer any money and that he is exposed or caught.

The scam has been reported to the Queens RCMP detachment.

Staff Sgt. Bruno Deveau said out-of-country scams are sent to phonebusters.com. The email address is info@phonebusters.com, and the toll free telephone number is 1-888-495-8501.

Staff Sgt. Deveau said, “This is a warning to everybody these and many others are scams and they can report it to the police. “

In an email conversation with The Queens County Advance editor, Mark Roberts the ‘Priest’ even claimed he served at St. Gregory’s Roman Catholic Church in Liverpool. Father Brian Murphy confirmed he hasn’t served at the church.

With files from Mark Roberts

Submit a Comment

Submit a Comment

This form is NOT used for emailing the article to a friend. Please use the "Send to a friend" link at the top of the page for that purpose.

Nova News Now is not responsible for posted comments. Please be polite and confine your comments to the subject of the posted story. If you have an account, please sign on to it..

(we keep all emails private)
Agreement

We ask that users remain courteous. You may not post insulting, discriminatory or inappropriate content, which may be removed at our discretion. We are not responsible for user content and opinions. Use of this site as well as content submission & ownership are governed by our Conditions of Use and Privacy Policy.

Member organizations should be non-profit in nature, and promote legal activities. Any organization found promoting illegal activities or commercial products or services will be deleted from the site.

I agree with these conditions.

Advertising

Services

  • No available services

Newsletter

Please enter your email to receive our free newsletter

Subscribe to news alerts

Advertising